Progress is the sixth studio album by British band Take That. It is the band’s first album to feature Robbie Williams since 1995. The album was released in the United Kingdom on 15 November 2010. The album received positive reviews, with most critics commending the influence of electronic music and synthesizers. It debuted at number one on the UK Albums Chart, becoming the fastest-selling album of the century and the second fastest-selling album of all-time. Progress also became the biggest-selling album of 2010 by selling over one million copies in 24 days. As of June 2011, the album had sold 2.8 million copies in the UK. The album also became a commercial success in Continental Europe, where it charted within the top ten of twelve countries. Progress has been certified two-times platinum by the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry for shipments of two million copies inside Europe. On 10 June 2011, the album was released alongside the EP Progressed, which features eight previously unreleased tracks.


On 15 July 2010, it was announced that Robbie Williams would be returning to the band. A joint statement between Williams and the group said, «The rumours are true… Robbie is back… and to celebrate, we’ve written and recorded a new album, due for release later this year.» On the same date, national newspapers printed the headline: «Following months of speculation, it has been confirmed that Robbie Williams is to make a return to Take That. Gary, Howard, Jason, Mark and Robbie have been recording a new studio album as a five-piece, which is due for release in November.»[1] Work on the album commenced in September 2009, following the final date of their sell-out «Take That Presents: The Circus Live» tour. Shortly afterward, it was confirmed that, ‘all five members of the band had met up, to begin writing the six songs which would set the foundation for the album.'[1] The album marks the band’s 20th year in the Music Industry, as well as fifteen years since the release of the Nobody Else album, the last material the band recorded as a five-piece.[2] The album cover was photographed by Nadav Kander, who had previously photographed Barack Obama.[3] It mimics the iconic ape-to-man image, and has been positively received by critics.[4][5]

The album was originally due for release on 22 November 2010,[6] however, the release date was later brought forward a week to 15 November 2010. Barlow claimed that the decision was made after «massive pre-orders for the album»[7] and after «analysing airplay and order data» with him revealing that «We’ve also never seen one of our singles played so much.»[8] A Take That spokesman claimed the change in release was also due to «huge response to their press conference» where they announced tour dates[9]