fight or flight song

fight or flight song

This is a Jewish themed song, based on ‘Africa’ by Toto. It was written, recorded and uploaded on 6th August 2012. This may not be the final recording. This song is partly set from the point of view of a Jewish Israelite after the Exodus despite the words ‘I am a Shammai Jew’.

The lyrics follow:

We are in Egypt, take flight.
Let us go and gain our salvation.
We are in Egypt, do not fight.
Flee to the place called Canaan.
Don’t ever go out of your way.
To forget the covenant at Sinai incredibly.
Now I know that I love God and I love you.

Now we are just going to get a clue.
Love God and love yourself as I love you.
The rains come to Israel.
We don’t have phones yet, so do not dial.

The Pesach lamb was sacrificed at night.
The day starts when the sun sets.
I hope I got that right.
Let’s go to Yisra’el and go and throw in our nets.
I am a Jew and that’s all there is to that, I am a Shammai Jew, that I have become.

Now we are just going to get a clue.
Love God and love yourself as I love you.
The rains come to Israel.
We don’t have phones yet, so do not dial.

Hey, we are waiting for the Mashiach, one, not two*.

I love God and keep His law to say I love You.
I know that it doesn’t matter what I do.
Keep the Law the best I can.
To the rains in Israel on the Tribe of Dan.
And all the others too.
I know I love you too.

To the rains in Israel.
To the rains in Israel.

* – this should be ‘Hey, we are waiting for two Meshichim, not one, but two*’

New words written by Dan Davidson. Music and original song copyright their respective owners. All original lines, and new song, only copyright Dan Davidson.